Utah operates under a modified comparative negligence law, meaning you can still recover compensation even if you’re found to be partially at fault for your injuries. However, your compensation will be reduced by your percentage of fault. For example, if you’re found to be 35 percent at fault for a car accident that injured you, you could still recover 65 percent of the cost of your injuries from other at-fault parties. However, you are barred from recovering any compensation at all if you are 50 percent or more to blame. That’s why it’s vital to have a lawyer who can effectively argue for the lowest possible determination of your fault to maximize your compensation.

The Utah statute of limitations for personal injury claims gives you four years from the day you were hurt to file a lawsuit against the parties at fault. However, there can be exceptions and limitations depending on your specific situation. It’s critical to consult with an attorney as soon as possible after your accident so you don’t miss this critical deadline.

The compensation you could recover depends on a number of factors specific to your case. These factors include the severity of your injuries, the extent of your compensable losses (like medical bills, lost wages, and the pain and suffering you’ve endured), and the degree to which other parties are at fault. Once we’ve evaluated your case thoroughly, we can give you a better understanding of what compensation you might expect.

Our firm operates on a contingency fee basis, meaning we only get paid if we win your case. You don’t owe us anything up front; instead, we collect a percentage of the settlement or verdict we obtain for you. This arrangement ensures you can access professional legal representation regardless of your financial situation. It also incentivizes us to fight hard on your behalf.

London Harker Injury Law Sandy Office

Personal Injury Attorney in Sandy, Utah


London Harker Injury Law Provo Office

Personal Injury Attorney in Provo, Utah

Map image